Travel Restrictions Expanded to Include Brazil

On May 24, 2020, President Trump issued a proclamation restricting travel from Brazil, which now has the second-highest number of confirmed coronavirus cases after the United States.  The restrictions mirror those already in effect for China, Iran, UK, Ireland, and Europe’s Schengen Area (which includes 26 European countries).

Specifically, the order restricts and suspends the entry into the United States for individuals “who were physically present within the Federative Republic of Brazil during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States.” Notably, the restrictions do not apply to US citizens, legal permanent residents, or their family members.

The new restrictions were initially slated to take effect May 28, 2020, but were later revised to take effect tonight (May 26, 2020) at 11:59 p.m. eastern daylight time. The order does not apply to individuals aboard a flight scheduled to arrive in the United States who departed prior to 11:59 p.m. eastern daylight time on May 26, 2020.

Jump to Page
Arrow icon Top

Contact Us

We use cookies to improve your website experience, provide additional security, and remember you when you return to the website. This website does not respond to "Do Not Track" signals. By clicking "Accept," you agree to our use of cookies. To learn more about how we use cookies, please see our Privacy Policy.

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. These cookies may only be disabled by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.