Burr’s Al Teel and Anna Akers Elected to Leadership for Birmingham Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Section

Firm News

Birmingham associate Al Teel has been selected to serve as president-elect for the Young Lawyers Section (YLS) of the Birmingham Bar Association. Al previously served as vice-president of Social for the 2019 Board. This will be his fourth term serving as an executive board member for YLS. Additionally, Birmingham associate Anna Akers has been elected to serve on the Executive Committee for 2020.

The YLS is for members who are 36 years old or younger, or members who have practiced for five years or less. The Section hosts CLEs, fundraisers, and many other events for the benefit of newer members of the legal profession.

At Burr, Al is a litigation associate in Burr & Forman's Birmingham office, where his practice is devoted to serving clients on a broad range of legal issues directly affecting the transportation, maritime, logistics, and manufacturing industries. Al litigates a variety of disputes including those involving catastrophic injury, wrongful death, commercial motor vehicle accidents, products liability, premises liability, Carmack Amendment claims, property damage, insurance coverage, and employment-related claims. He regularly represents Class I and short-line railroads in suits brought under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, FRSA whistleblower claims, trespasser injuries, property damage claims, and other third-party injuries. He also specializes in regulatory compliance for trucking companies under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and for issues affecting the rapidly evolving logistics industry.

Anna Akers is also an associate in the Birmingham office where she practices in the firm's Creditors' Rights and Bankruptcy group. Anna received her Juris Doctor from Samford University’s Cumberland School of Law, where she graduated cum laude. During law school, Anna served as the Executive Editor of the Cumberland Law Review, a Judge Abraham Caruthers Fellow, and is the recipient of the Scholar of Merit Award. Anna also worked with the Admission’s Office as an Admission Ambassador.

Related Professionals

Jump to Page
Arrow icon Top

Contact Us

We use cookies to improve your website experience, provide additional security, and remember you when you return to the website. This website does not respond to "Do Not Track" signals. By clicking "Accept," you agree to our use of cookies. To learn more about how we use cookies, please see our Privacy Policy.

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. These cookies may only be disabled by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.